Whenever you access information from other users’ Keep&Share accounts you are said to be Visiting their account. Visiting and Sharing are two sides of one coin: when you Visit friends’ accounts you are viewing the information they have shared with you.
Visiting is built around several simple concepts:
- The Friends List is a list of Keep&Share Account Names you want to be able to visit (and also to share information with).
- Whenever you visit someone’s account, Keep&Share automatically shows you all the information they have shared with you.
- Whenever your friends create new shares for you or edit an existing share, you receive automatic Notifications on your Dashboard with hyperlinks to the shared information.
In order for you to be able to see files and other information in another person’s Keep&Share account, the owner of the information in that account must do one of two things:
- Share that information publicly
- Share that information with you using limited sharing
How to Find & Visit Others' Shared Information
First, you will need to click on the gray "Friends" link in the blue bar at the top of your screen. Then in the pop-up dialog, you will need to click on the name of the person whose shares you want to see. Once you have clicked on your friend's name, what they have shared and what share groups they are in will appear on the right-hand side of the screen.
If the Friend you want to share with is not listed in your Friends’ Shares, you can add them by clicking the “Find and Add Friends” button at the bottom of the “Manage Friends & Share Groups” dialog. Learn more about Subscribing to Friend’s accounts. You can also view your Friends’ Shares and any recent shares they've made with you in Friends’ Share Pages.
Accessing Public Information
If the information in a Keep&Share account is shared publicly that means that anyone, regardless of whether they have a Keep&Share account or not, can access that information if they have the link to that information. To easily access that public information, you can subscribe to that person’s account. Subscribing tells Keep&Share to “please notify me of Public shares.”
After you have subscribed to that account, you will receive Notifications of any new or editing publicly shared information from that account. You can view these Notifications on your account’s Dashboard.
Learn more about creating links to your Keep&Share applications.
Accessing Private information
“Limited Sharing” is when you select a specific list of people to share your information with. This also means that the individuals that you share with must be logged into a Keep&Share account in order to see your information.
When information is shared with you privately, there are three places you will be able to access that information
- As a Notification on your Dashboard
- By accessing your Friends List in the blue bar
- By using the "Friends” tab on your Dashboard